All English

Yes, and now we switch to English...Just to see how that works out, next time it will be all dutchy again. (Pien, I keep it simple so this could be a good training for you- and if you don't get all of it, maybe I can translate it for you over a skype-session...) Today it is Martin Luther King day here in America (I woke up this morning and I remembered my dream for the first time in a long while...coincidence?) which means that the official institutes and offices are closed. So no classes today, but you could shop until you drop...Some people take this day to volunteer somewhere, and make a contribute to the thought of Dr. King. We are going to the Museum of Fine Arts where there will be a ceremony in memory of. I believe there is going to be a reverend who will speak and an African-American dancing team, or something like that, at least it is somehow cultural, for I have read.

I just hope that the black panthers will let us enter, (or maybe more- let us leave), no I am kidding, that would be so contrary to ‘the dream'. (Yeah, I got in ánd out- how great is that?)

Friday was some kind of cultural shock. There was a comedy show, organized by the NU, and we could get free tickets. Well, what are we waiting for? I am a laugher...Tom and Maarten also, so what could go wrong?

Well, let's just say it wasn't that funny. At all. But the crazy part of it all is that all the people laughed their asses off...So it had to be us. Ok, then it is us, still it was really unfunny. But now we knew. And it is hard to say why it was not funny. It was kind of Lama improvisation show, and the audience could give input. And there was swearing now and then, (so that couldn't be it,) it was no Mormon-religious-conservative-Bush friends show. It just wasn't funny, bottom-line.

Afterwards we went to a bar for a drink and there somebody asked us, when hearing that we came from the Netherlands, if we knew -2 names- living in Ireland. ??? We explained that that chance would be very little, and tried to visualize a map of Europe- didn't work that well. But we tried, that counts for something, right? Right folks?

Saturday I went up to the John Hancock Tower

(John Hancock was one of the founding Fathers of America, who signed the declaration form and handed this over to the king) where Gordon works. He showed me the office, his office is located at the 50th floor. Boom. Elevator. Lots of buttons. Shaky. Fast. (I asked him if he ever had taken the stairs. 'I don't believe we have one'.) But the view is killing.

Killing view over the entire city of Boston and way beyond, I even believed I saw Schalkwijk...(or maybe that was just me...)

.

..pretty cool thus. After that I went to Maarten en Tom, we had dinner together and some conversations influenced by the bottle of Bacardi that accompanied us...Further on we went to a bar, located in a hotel lobby. Fancy place. $7 for a beer, that was a one off thing. But we tried...

Sunday I was all American. Big US breakfast (had nothing to do with the Bacardi...), laying at couch and watching American Football all day long. Pretty good assimilation, I figured.

Now I really got to focus on my studying again, so I split, for now. Ciao.

Reacties

Reacties

Marijke

Hoi Tyas, I really enjoy your stories.
heb het nog heeeeel prettig!
groet en liefs van Marijke

Anas AkA Freddy (Bigg Bang)

Tyson!!! Whajooo echt vet gek De 023 waar in de verte GRGRG lekker dan ouweee mooi om te lezen that you ar certainly not standing still over there :P ceep on discovering we love 2 read it all ciao !!! x

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!